Skip navigation

Hello all!

This is my first blog ever and I intend to make this a regular thing. Let me start by telling you a bit about myself. I’m 20 years of age, live in Melbourne, Australia and I am very interested in web-design and scepticism. I am a huge fan of James Randi and anyone who promotes Sceptical thinking and the scientific method. Currently I am in the process of designing a site for Australian Skeptics promoting sceptical thinking to young Australians. All going to plan this should be up and running by the end of 2008.

I am also currently enroled at a college where I study web-design and multimedia. This is a new calling for me that I just discovered I loved this year.

Anyway, enough about me lets talk about the blog. I intend to discuss mainly sceptical issues that I come across in the paper and online, but I will generally use this blog to rant, whinge and basically vent my frustration with the current state of the world. So if you want to come along for the ride and have a whinge too then feel free to comment or email me or what ever!

Thanks for joining me

Skelliot.

13 Comments

    • Jovial and jocular
    • Posted December 6, 2007 at 11:27 pm
    • Permalink

    Nice choice of theme for the blog, young apprentice. Here’s a few sceptical points which actually may just veer on the cynical side, but oh well. “This is my first blog ever and i intend to make this a regular thing” – surely that would be up there as the most common first line of any blog. Prove me wrong and post interesting stuff every week – after all, extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence. πŸ˜‰

    Looking forward to interesting articles, impeccable spelling and skilfully formed prose.

  1. congratulations skelliot! looking forward to your 2Β’ worth!

    • SlapStickLife
    • Posted December 9, 2007 at 9:55 pm
    • Permalink

    I noticed in your latest post you are involved in the ‘skeptic scene’. That makes me cringe really badly. But anyhoo, through your blog I discovered almost two days of interesting vids and lectures. Thanks for that!

    • skelliot
    • Posted December 9, 2007 at 11:34 pm
    • Permalink

    Hi Slapsticklife.

    My whole blog is involved in the “skeptic scene” so I guess I should be glad you noticed! I’m glad that you found some interesting media through my blog. I could recommend Richard Dawkin’s lecture Growing Up in the Universe.

    Cheers

    • Jovial and jocular
    • Posted December 10, 2007 at 4:41 am
    • Permalink

    @Slapsticklife,
    I’m interested in why the term “skeptic scene” makes you cringe. What is it about critical-thinking and non-gullibility that you have a problem with? Or maybe you are simply unclear on what it means to be skeptical?

    • SlapStickLife
    • Posted December 10, 2007 at 9:14 am
    • Permalink

    @Jocular
    Na it just seems like there is a whole lotta skeptics hangin in the hood thats all. It kinda takes away from the individualistic free thought idea by putting everyone in a ‘scene’ thats all I meant. I am completely in favor of analytical scrutiny of life and the world around us. It is, in fact, a little bit of a shock to realise that people still actually take creationist theory seriously. This is another example though, of having blinkers on, and thinking that the world is what you see around you every day. Just because it is natural for me to think in a ‘scientific’ (I aint no scientist!) way, others believe differently. They are entitled to their opinions and views of course, just keep em away from that big red button or the machine that goes PING.

    • skelliot
    • Posted December 11, 2007 at 1:01 am
    • Permalink

    Thank you for clarifying what you meant SlapStickLife. Unfortunately many many people still think in an illogical way. Many of those people are young (around my age) and only think that way because they do not know any better or they were told to think that way. I have met a few people of my age group who once I told them certain facts or mentioned something to them they have seen things in a completely different way. Interesting.

    Skelliot

    • podblack
    • Posted December 13, 2007 at 2:21 am
    • Permalink

    Hello!
    First – do you know of the http://www.skeptics.com.au site? Are you officially associated with any of them?
    Are you an educator?
    And are you aware of the Australian skeptics vodcast The Tank, as shown on http://www.mysteryinvestigators.com?

    BTW – this is me: http://www.skeptics.com.au/prizes/2006ctprizeb.htm
    My site:
    http://www.podblack.wordpress.com

    • skelliot
    • Posted December 13, 2007 at 2:31 am
    • Permalink

    Hi!

    Yes I know of the aussie skeptics site. I am currently designing a website that I will be constructing for my final year of college. I decided to do it along side Australian Skeptics and I have contacted Vic Skeptics and have been talking with Terry Kelly.

    I have been reading your blog actually and yes I listen to Tank. πŸ™‚

    I’m not an educator I’m just a young guy from Melbourne who is doing his best to give a different view point. That of a young Australian. πŸ™‚

    Skelliot

    • podblack
    • Posted December 13, 2007 at 5:03 am
    • Permalink

    Ah, it was the part that you said “promoting sceptical thinking to young Australians” and I was wondering exactly how you were planning to do that.

    I was wondering – how precisely is the view of ‘a young Australian’ different to anyone else’s?

    • skelliot
    • Posted December 13, 2007 at 5:18 am
    • Permalink

    Well as I said I am working towards creating a website as that will be my occupation in about a year :). Currently, I’m not too sure of the content of the site as I have only started concept designs.

    I guess the view of a young Australian isn’t really that different from any other group. I just don’t see many younger people writing about what they observe in regards to skepticism and critical thinking. I also have seen over the last year or so a lot of people my age who seem to just accept things the way see them. I don’t expect to change the world but I want to try and do my bit and hopefully get younger Australians thinking again.

    Skelliot

  2. Okay, thanks. I’ll add you to my blogroll; I’d suggest you do the same and for the TANK vodcast, just to get some reciprocal hits going!

    Content is key. I’d work on that first and start doing some research. Let me know if you are seeking any examples of links and ideas; you can see on the Australian skeptics website what the WA skeptics have designed and when I finally get this school term completed, I hope to get my syllabus and content up and running. You might also be interested in the work APIS (www.philosophywa.com) and the Curriculum Council of Western Australia is doing with the new Philosophy and Ethics course; also Peter Ellerton’s site in Qld – their course is called ‘Philosophy and Logic’. The last Aust Skeptic mag had details.
    Will get in touch then!

    • skelliot
    • Posted December 13, 2007 at 7:24 am
    • Permalink

    Thanks a lot πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely look into those things. And yes your right, I will add Tank to my blog roll as well as your blog.

    Skelliot


Leave a Reply

